The Trash Stash: Inspirational Word Wedges from Scrap Wood

If you are like me, you see potential in almost everything.  Whether it is a discarded newspaper (eh-hmm, I mean paper-mâché bowl) or the 2-liter in the recycle bin (hellooo mini-greenhouse), potential is everywhere.  A new purpose can be found for just about anything.  It should come as no surprise that I love the phrase “One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.” This is one of those instances.

20170119_075729.jpgNot too long ago, my husband was working on a toy box for charity.  This very elaborate toy box would resemble the Barnum’s Animal Cracker packaging, complete with functioning wheels.  In the process of creating these wheels, he generated a lot of triangular shaped scraps that were left over from the space in between the spokes.  As I was looking at these little pieces of wood scattered about our garage, the wheels in my head began to turn. “Don’t worry, I’m going to clean this up and throw these pieces away,” my husband assured me. “No, wait!” I replied, “I need these.” He looked at me puzzled, “You need these?” With a big smile I said “Yes.” With an eyebrow raised, “Well, how many?” he questioned. And with a mischievous little grin, I replied “ALL of them.”

After we had gathered up the 48 or so wedges, I got to work thinking up an idea.  And in no time, I had it!  They looked like little hills. Wouldn’t it be so cute if I turned these into a knick-knack that you could sit on your desk.  I could decorate the front with an inspirational word and the back with an inspirational saying. So that is what I decided to do.

20170119_093356.jpgI started by sanding up the rough edges.  Then I mixed several acrylic paint colors and added the background to each one. Armed with sharpies and paint pens, I wrote words on the brightly colored wedges. Then, while waiting for it to dry, it was off to the computer to type up an inspirational saying that would go well with the hill theme. I decided on: “Sometimes life is an uphill journey, press on my friend.” Later, I decided to include a scripture on the back of some of the wedges. Once printed, I traced each wedge around the saying, cut it out and glued it to the back.  A little sealer and ribbon, and it was done!

Word Wedges 1.jpgThe wedges were a big hit in my booth at a craft show I participate in every year. I had several customers who were getting them for teacher gifts, and some who were including them as stocking stuffers for their sisters.  I love being able to find a new use for something that would have otherwise made its way to the trash bin. I hope you found this inspiring and perhaps even raid your own trash stash to create something new.

Believe Wedge Edited.jpg

-Celeste, the AIM studios

Leave a Reply

