The Trash Stash: Torque Convertor Clock

The Trash Stash: Torque Convertor Clock

Is there anyone out there who enjoys car trouble? I seriously doubt it. In fact, I’m fairly certain I could probably get away with saying ‘everyone hates car trouble.’ I am no different.  It pains me when something has gone awry and my husband begins the diagnosis process of figuring out what’s wrong. Not too long ago, we were in this position… again. After some research, it was decided that the torque converter had gone bad and needed to be replaced.

Getting to the component was not an easy task. “There’s nothing like the feeling of dread that washes over you as you lie under a two-ton vehicle with little more than a jack-stand and a prayer keeping the tremendous weight from crashing down on you,” my husband said as we reminisced over the experience. It was a struggle getting the old torque converter off; and believe me, getting the new one on wasn’t easy. But we did it! Well he did it, I helped with about 7% of the work. And what did we have to show for our efforts? A smoothly running vehicle and an old busted converter.

Torque Conv Pre Build.jpg
“Well, it is an interesting looking hunk of metal…”

Now, what to do with that torque converter?  It seemed a shame to just throw it out.  I mean, it had worked hard for us for over 250,000 miles! Lucky for me, I’m not the only one who likes to keep random items. It was in no time that James had the idea to turn it into a clock.  He separated the pieces, reconfigured a few things and added a few components. The end result was a funky and functional clock that resembled a jet engine! As you can see, not even old car parts are safe from the trash stash. While I don’t want to go through car trouble again any time soon, it is nice when at least a small part of the experience can be turned into something beautiful. I hope you found this inspiring and perhaps turn your discarded vehicle pieces into a one-of-a-kind timepiece.

20170130_191727.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

