The Trash Stash: Pendants from Cedar Scraps

Here I go again, raiding the garage floor for the discarded scraps of wood from other projects. It’s just that I hate seeing things go to waste. By golly, if I can help it, I will find something to do with the “trash.”  This time, it was the shaved off pieces of my brother’s cedar blocks that he was using to make coasters. After I had retrieved a good handful, I grabbed a pair of pliers and started breaking them into small irregular shaped chunks.

Cedar Scraps and PiecesNext, I found a piece of 60 grit sandpaper and started refining the shapes and taking off the rough edges.  Once I was pretty happy with the shape of each piece, I clamped them one by one to the edge of our work table and drilled a small hole at the top.  For some of them, I used a bit that was approximately the same size as some of my scrapbooking “bling” and drilled recesses to serve as settings. At this point I had basic pendants, but they needed to be smoothed out a bit more.  I used 100 grit, followed by 250 grit sandpaper to get a smoother surface on my pendants and then gave them a good washing and set them aside to dry overnight.

Sanding and Basic Pendants.jpgThe next day, I added the gems to the recesses and finished them off with a few layers of gloss medium. Now all that was left to do was to raid my broken jewelry stash to find some accents to go with these new pendants. Once I had decided on some necklace designs, I added new chain and a clasp.  It was a lot of fun creating these necklaces from what would have otherwise landed in the trash bin or the compost pile. I hope you found this inspiring and perhaps take a new look at the scraps from your other projects.

Recylced Cedar Pendant Necklaces

-Celeste, the AIM studios

Leave a Reply

