On the Artist’s Floor: Birds and Branches

It’s been a while since I created a new series in acrylics. Lately, I have been experimenting with watercolors and my acrylic paints are a bit neglected.  I have a show coming up this weekend, so as usual, I find myself scrambling to crank out a few more items for display. Initially, I thought I may work on a few new watercolor paintings; I grabbed my watercolors and some paper, but felt uninspired. Deciding to go back to familiar waters, I pulled out my acrylic paints and canvas.

Yellow Bird in Progress.jpgI spread out the drop cloth, closed my eyes and tried to think of something to paint. I could hear some birds chirping outside. Lately, our neighborhood has been very active with song birds. Taking the idea of birds as my inspiration, I researched a few photos of online and then got to work sketching.

Painting Red Berries.jpg

I don’t usually draw or paint animals, so I was stepping into some unfamiliar territory (within the comfort of my familiar medium). It was difficult getting the texture of the feathers and I feel like my robin looks pregnant. All in all, I think they turned out nice.  I’m considering adding several more to this series of Birds and Branches. I must admit, I had a lot of fun painting these. I hope you found this inspiring and perhaps find a way to explore the unfamiliar within the familiar.

Birds and Branches Group.jpg

-Celeste, the AIM Studios

Leave a Reply

